Feed Me!

I interrupt the injury recap to talk about FOOD…

Exercising took up a large part of my life before I was injured. Between working two jobs and crossfit, running and yoga, I didn’t have much extra time to cook nor did I really like too. Some people find it relaxing and therapeutic, I just want to stuff food in my face as fast as I can when I am hungry.  Thankfully, I live with a guy that loves and has the patience to make delicious meals otherwise I would live off hummus, carrot sticks and chocolate.

Sing it, sista

Sing it, sista.

While I was recovering in the hospital, I made goals about all the new hobbies I would take up since I wouldn’t be able to exercise and would have a lot more free time.  I figured I would learn to knit, read new books, cook, take up crafting, you know, become a total renaissance women. In reality, I read one book. You would judge me if you knew how many episodes of Keeping up with the Kardashians I watched. People always asked me if I was really bored, but honestly, I don’t remember ever being bored! I valued my ‘Amelia’ time.

I did get into the show Homeland which was SO good (must watch) but other than that I watched a lot of reality TV and organized my email folders.

However, my cooking dream did not die! (Mostly because Manuel reminded me every day that I was going to start cooking once I was better.) So I read a lot of food blogs and bookmarked recipes but when the time came to make dinner, I was too impatient to prep or wait for a recipe to cook. I decided that if I really wanted to start cooking more, buying a cookbook would help. So I ‘researched’ (read amazon reviews) my options and decided on Jamie Oliver’s- Cook.  It sounded like a good starting point.

Umm, this book is too difficult!  The book is huge which I find over-whelming and the recipes are a lot more complicated and time intensive than I thought they would be. They also have ingredients that I don’t use and cannot find in the Yukon. Fail. Haven’t used it once. Re-gift?

Sad day for me too, Jamie.

Sad day for me too, Jamie.

HOWEVER, this was just a long-winded way of saying that I have started cooking and here are a few EASY recipes that I have tried and liked if you’re in the market to start cooking!

-Paleo Pumpkin Granola- My friend Sam introduced me to this granola and I make it all the time now. It’s a delicious snack. (There is a great recipe for an oatmeal bake on her blog now!)

- Cauliflower Pizza Crust – Made this for girl’s night once and I was surprised how tasty it turned out.

- Life- Changing Loaf of Bread-  I think this is my favourite new recipe! It is SO easy and the only weird ingredient is psyllium husks but that can be found at most health food stores. It tastes great toasted with almond butter or nutella! Yum. img_0171

- Quinoa Chicken Balls- I loosely followed this recipe but substituted bacon with chicken and swapped a few of the veggies. Next time, I think I would add hot peppers.

- Maple Sweet Potato Hash- I made this tonight and about to eat it all! I substituted the breakfast sausage with grouse that Manuel caught. Living off the land here peeps.

That’s all I’ve got. Five recipes in 3 months… it’s a start!

One thought on “Feed Me!

Leave a Reply

