Babe Patrol does Whistler (minus Alan)

I started this post before I left and never got a chance to finish it. Seeing our new logo for the Babe Patrol (Dave thank you SO much) and reading Care’s latest post has inspired me. And oh yah, I just signed up for a 28km trail race and am sort of starting to panic. I  need a trail running refresher and hoping Dave or Alan will see this and somehow transmit their trail running abilities across the Pacific and into my body?

I have a feeling this race is  going to be one of those things that I sign up for, thinking I can do with little or no training and then hate myself/injure myself/never want to speak of it again (flashback to Daegu marathon 2008). Uh oh.

The reason I signed up was this little email I got…

Thanks for rubbing it in Beijing marathon that my ‘personal condition’ is not ready for a marathon. My lack of endurance is not a disease thankyouverymuch.

I did debate signing up for the full marathon but I’m pretty sure you can’t train for a marathon by only doing speed work (at least I’ve never seen that article in Runner’s World). I really wanted to run the half because I watched the 2008 woman’s Olympic marathon in Beijing and it’s the same route!

I am  still pestering the committee with emails to let me in. “Heeellllo, I’m coming all the way from Canada juuuuust for this!!!”   They have stopped responding.  It’s probably for the best because 1. Flights are really expensive and 2. I barely made it out alive after  my 1 hour train ride. I don’t think I could handle a 10 hour train ride with little sleep the night before a race.

So, enter the trail race! I need a refresher so rewind to the perfect last weekend in Vancouver!

Road trippin’ to Whistler…

Andrea- you could have at least washed the poo off your window. 😉

…lounging in 5 star accommodation (no idea if that’s true but have you seen our Vancouver apartment? This place had a dishwasher. Ballin’)

How did we make this place so messy in 1 hour?

There are only 4 other people in the world that want to see this.

dancing…

Umm, never mind the fist pump, just noticed the girl's outfit behind Andrea. Whoa.

PaulyD was dj'ing. Couldn't hold us down.

and running…

It. was. so. beautiful. While I was running I had to keep reminding myself to look around and remember how lucky I was to be running on this beautiful day in one of the most beautiful places in the world (I would have been even luckier if I had been hiking and not running but still). It was an awesome, awesome route and race. I think we were all on a runner’s high after we completed it.

Lessons Learned: Power hike up the hills. I like trail running because there are lots of excuses to walk. (Hills, rocks, slippery slopes, dangerous curves, etc)  However, that’s not an excuse to slow down. I would forget I was in a race while going up the hill and start to dilly-dally. Next time,  I have to remember to push myself, even if I am walking up a hill.

– Altitude makes a huge difference. I was shocked at how tired I was after the first 100 meter’s. I could hardly breathe! I wasn’t feeling a warm-up jog at all that morning but it would have been a good idea to get used to breathing that high up.

– I am so impressed with the fast girls at these races (booty short girl I’m talking to you). I guess because I don’t really know what to expect throughout the run, I tend to save myself. I am always tired at the end, but I don’t give it 100% throughout because I never know what’s going to happen next and worry I’ll be too tired to go on.  I’m also scared of hurting myself for my “real” races. Push yo-self Amelia!

Ok- I don’t really know what I am talking about here-this was my second trail race ever and I’m really just in it for the food, fun, friends and caesar’s. 🙂

Anywho, this was a completely random post and very long. Hopefully someone needed to procrasinate at work today. (Mom?) I’m  going to leave all of you that are still with me with this:

I’m not really sure what this means, but I don’t think running hill repeats on a treadmill with my trail runners on is the same thing.

4 thoughts on “Babe Patrol does Whistler (minus Alan)

  1. Beautiful post girlfriend. I am at the office (Blenz) reading this and laughing out loud at the pics. What a great weekend. Trail race, wicked. Kill it. PS still no dishwasher, wishing i was back in that whistler hotel room everyday.

  2. I laughed out loud at “personal condition.” 🙂

    I’m jealous of your trail race! These last few weeks I’ve been doing more trail running than I have in years and I just love it. Love the pics from your previous race and can’t wait to read about the upcoming one!

  3. Pingback: My “Taper” « Eat, Run, Travel

Leave a Reply

