Expo 2010: Not quite the same as the Olympics

Happy Mid-Autumn Week!! Mid-autumn happens all over the world but in China we get a holiday for it. (Canada- take note.) It happens during the first full moon of September, or something like that? All I know is we get time off work…and lots and lots of mooncakes.

The school had Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday off but we had to work all weekend… so I’m very confused to what day it is.

On Tuesday (I think), we headed up to check out Expo 2010. I had heard a lot of horror stories about line-ups and the masses of people but felt like the Olympics had prepared me for epic tests of line-up endurance and cultural events.

I realized there were were some common themes to the Expo and Olympics.

Common theme: Ugly hats and line-ups.

Olympic line-ups went something like this:

New Camera and Oldies 087

Making besties in line, sipping "coffee"

Expo line-ups were more like this:

I might pee my pants

I might pee my pants

IMG_0599

 Once you make the commitment to a line, you are in it for the long run. No where to turn, no chance to sneak to a bathroom.  I had to get a special pass once I got in a little closer because I didn’t think I would make it! (I was given 1/2 hour, not really sure what they thought I was going to do in there…) PS: Despite “posing” in a pic with me, the women beside me did not become my bestie. I think she probably pushed me down a few minutes later to get a few people ahead. Whatever happened to the ‘I got yo back’ mentality of the Olympics? No one was butting in front of our peeps. I think I need to start embracing ‘elbows’ up’ in all aspects of my life, not just when runners are trying to pass me.

To be honest, I have never really known what the Expo is all about. (I’d always pretend I knew what was going on when my parents talked about it.) What it is, is basically a world exhibition; kind of like an interactive tourism ad for a lot of different countries around the world.

Common theme: German House

My co-workers said that German house was supposed to be one of the best houses to check out and since I consider myself partly German I was down. The line-up was only about 2 hours long since we were there pretty early but later on in the day it was 6 and 1/2!!

German house was also one of my favourite places during the Olympics. This is what I thought Germany was all about:

2 (2)

I guess this is what Germany is really all about:

View Germany House

Despite the lack of red and white, I was actually really impressed with the German house. They focused on a ‘balancity” which embraced environmental technologies, city planning, and greenspace.  It was hard to take pictures inside but it was cool to see all the new and old inventions Germany has come up with and what they are trying to do for a more sustainable world.

Common theme: Food and Beer

Like the Olympics where I drank beer and ate nachos for every meal. (Ya’d think watching the best athletes in the world compete would inspire one to make healthy choices. Not so.)

10 (2)

The best part of the expo was also the food and beer:

20 (2) 5 8 9

FYI: My uncle’s homemade sauerkraut is about 3000 times better.

When I knew that there was no way I was going to be having more fun then this inside the exhibits.

New Camera and Oldies 091

I decided the best part was walking around and checking out all the different architecture of the countries buildings.

These are some of my fav’s…

View Expo 2010

Common Theme: Canada!

Hollywood over here, showed my passport, started skipping lines, getting pins, taking numbers. Where was that service during the Olympics!? Do you know who I am!

24

This is what the Olympics taught me about Canada: 14 5 (2)

Not this: 25 Like you are only appealing to 20% of the population here.

26

This could be any countries food!

27

I decided he has the worst job in the world.

Canada house wasn’t that great. I don’t think it did a very good job capturing the Canadian spirit, way of life or even the Expo theme of “Better City, Better Life.”

But I guess I’m just used to this:  All Canadian right here. New Camera and Oldies 252

Now, I have one question for the World Expo.  This is the best you could do?! No English editors in China??

1

PS: Since I want to include all the eat, run, travel aspects of my life in this one post when I was in Shanghai, I got to run in the park again. I was really sore from all the walking at the expo but it was actually a pretty good run. I didn’t have Garmz but ran for about 1 hour and 1/2 at a little faster then LR pace. It is amazing what good coffee can do for a girl and her running. I seriously don’t understand why anyone would want to give it up.

7 thoughts on “Expo 2010: Not quite the same as the Olympics

  1. aah i loved reliving our olympic glory through these pics! we definitely deserve a gold medal for beer and nachos consumption. and it was so nice of you to take your apparently disabled friend along to an event with you (11th photo down).

  2. Another great informative post I love them Keep them coming. Glad you had some time off would not want your life there to be all work and no play. xo

Leave a Reply

