The weekend I went to Halifax and had a Caesar

…sort of.

Friday was the GCA Halloween party. I know, I know. Settle down Amelia, getting cww-azy in China, partying with high school students, working on a Friday! Whoaaaa.

It was costumes, games, pizza Chinese style.

Turns out it’s not that different than Canada.

 

IMG_1186 Me throwing together a costume at the last minute. It’s open for interpretation.

IMG_1187

Girls looking for an excuse to dress pretty.

IMG_1203

Girls looking for an excuse to wear high heel sparkly shoes. I think their costume is open for interpretation too.

IMG_1197

Boys looking for an excuse to dress like girls. Own it brothah.

IMG_1188

Boys looking for an excuse wear make-up that has nothing to do with their costume?

IMG_1190

My principal looking for an excuse to act like a 15 year old and eat MacDonald’s.

IMG_1191

Girl changing her costume 10 minutes later because she looked too scary. (I’ve been there sistah, circa the gothic look 2007, scared myself.)

IMG_1213

An excuse to eat lots of crap.

IMG_1209

And to get your fortunate told by… Oreo’s? The first wealth is health.

IMG_1215 An excuse to play scandalous games… in a high school?! Can’t believe they vetoed  my idea of having students participate in a beer mile for this.

IMG_1206

One of my students thought it would be a genius idea to BUY  a rabbit and a mouse for a touching station in the haunted house. Umm, NO! This guy was so scared he was pooping and peeing everywhere. I rescued him and kept him in the staff room but uh, not exactly sure where he is now…

IMG_1208

I wish Eric’s stache was part of his costume… or better yet, Movember, but nope, he just thinks it looks good.

 

As if working Friday night wasn’t exciting enough… I headed to Nanjing for a post-secondary fair with the Grade 12’s on Saturday.

IMG_1220

It was my personal goal to recruit as many students to Nova Scotia schools as i could. I strongly believe that the East Coast has the best universities in Canada.  Everyone in China wants to go to the University of Toronto… I don’t even know anyone at U of T?! But they think it’s #1 and the only option to bring ‘pride’ to their family slash you can get away with speaking Chinese the whole time.

IMG_1221

Halifax!! I pretended I knew people in all of the pictures and pointed out Care’s house. 😉 I think I may have convinced one student… she can stay with your fam right Care?

Finally, on Sunday I headed out for some fun in Shanghai. We have a new high speed train in my city, so now it only takes 1/2 hour to get to the Hai… but  the train station is in the middle of nowhere. Oh, Tongxiyang, baby steps.

IMG_1235 IMG_1231 

It was my friend’s birthday and I kept telling her I wanted to take her out for a Western style brunch… with lots of Caesar’s and beer. When we arrived at the restaurant she picked out she was like, “look, you love salads right?! They have a great selection here.”

Oh, she thought I meant Caesar salad. Damn. It was still a really cool restaurant with a nice view of old parts of the city and new.

IMG_1237 IMG_1239 

This is a big week with mid-terms, marks due and 2 races… in 2 different cities. Oops.   At least I can rock my new Babe Patrol t-shirt!!

IMG_1242

My main man and I are OUT.

One thought on “The weekend I went to Halifax and had a Caesar

  1. “The first wealth is health”… next to a plate of Oreo’s. Wouldn’t happen to be teaching them ‘irony’ in English class, would you?

    Oh, and I’ll just skip my rant on the peace signs 🙂

Leave a Reply

